It is a beefy miracle.

As one can infer from the name of this blog, I’m far from the best at linux, and have started getting into it about 2 months ago; however, I have a blog and will now shout my opinions of everything. Fedora 17 is awesome. It’s the first Red Hat based Linux OS I’ve ever used, so things like YUM took a little getting used to, but it’s running far more smoothly and efficiently than Debian based distros I’ve used previously (Ubuntu, Mint, Backtrack). Furthermore, it is the only Linux-based OS to recognize my dual monitor system without an hour of installing drivers and messing with xorg.conf. Gnome runs great on it, without the lag and glitchiness I got from Mint 11 & 12. I haven’t tried anything fancy like Compiz Fusion yet, but so far Ubuntu is the only OS that could run it, and it couldn’t for very long. Looks like wobbly-windows are a dream differed.

I installed just in time for a faulty Google Chrome update, so after working that out and fixing the flash player (see previous post if you had this issue, despite Google saying the right flash player comes installed) web browsing is going well. A lot more software came pre-installed than I expected, as the “condiments” were one the primary goals of this release, even Minesweeper was included (yet Gimp strangely was not). The backup system included is also very convenient.

I’m not the person you really want ask about which distribution you should choose, specific and technical aspects of Linux Fedora 17, or really anything about Linux as I am a Linux Super Noob. Just know that this Linux Super Noob is enjoying Fedora for casual, everyday use.

~Corwin

