Facing the over-abundance of corporate involvement in social media, I’ve been thinking, what if we could make a free social network? And by free, I mean more than it being $0 to join, I mean a community of volunteer programmers and server administrators erect a social network that is free of advertisement, survey, monitoring, or anything other than what the network is intended to do. If it is web based, it should be maintained by volunteers, if it is downloadable software, it should be free, and open-source.

I imagine it functioning much like the GNU/Linux project, run primarily by volunteers, and funded by donors and interest groups willing to invest in cyber freedom. I, personally, would be more than willing to take my other PC, install FreeBSD and a terabyte hard drive, and get to work.

